Documentation

For Upload and Edit Users

Editing / Updating Items

Editing a Single Item

On an item page, click the Edit button and edit the fields as required.

Note: For all editing operations, when you have finished editing you can either Update with the changes or Discard the changes. If you have made changes and attempt to leave the page before clicking Update or Discard, a warning will be displayed.

Assigning Subjects to Items

On an item page click the Edit button.

The item can be assigned to any number of subjects.

Use the Assign Subject button to select the subject(s) for the item.

Use the Remove All Subjects button on the item page to clear all subjects for the item.

Replacing an Asset with a New Version

From More Options on the item page, select Upload New Version. Upload the files in the usual manner.

Archiving Items

From More Options on the item page, select Move to Archive.

Archiving an item is useful for assets which have no immediate value, but which you do not wish to delete.

Moving an item to the archive deletes its surrogates and activity history.

Archived items will not be found or returned by a search.

Items that are in the archive can be viewed with the Items In Archive option of the tools menu (Cog icon).

Items in the archive can be restored, at which point a new activity history will be started.

Moving Items to Trash

From More Options on the item page, select Move to Trash.

Trash in iBase works in the same way as - for example - Trash on a Mac or Recycle Bin on a PC.

When items are moved to trash, everything about them is stored there, including their activity history.

Items in trash will not be found or returned by a search.

Items in trash can be viewed with the Items In Trash menu option.

Items in trash can be restored, complete with their activity history, by clicking on the Put Back button on the item page.

Deleting Items

To permanently delete an item - the digital asset, all of its metadata and its audit history - use Empty Trash in the Trash folder.

WARNING - DELETING ITEMS CANNOT BE UNDONE.